Maintenance case filed by wife and daughter when wife earning in 6 figures

Tilak Marg Forum for Legal Questions Forums Family Law Maintenance case filed by wife and daughter when wife earning in 6 figures

Tagged: 

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Anonymous

I am a senior central Government officer. Due to some family and matrimonial issues, i am staying alone from my wife and daughter. My wife is also a senior professional earning a six figure salary. My daughter has however just completed 12th Standard and is above the age of 18 years. Both of them have filed a case against me for maintenance under Section 125 Crpc. please help me sir.

Firstly, please keep in mind that under Section 125 of the Criminal Procedure Code, wife can claim maintenance if she is unable to maintain herself. If your wife is earning in 6 figures (which means Rs. 1 lakh or above per month), then she cannot say that she is not able to maintain herself. So, if you have proof of her monthly salary which is in six figures, then you can oppose her maintenance application on this ground.