Is it wrong to give shelter and help to an absconding criminal who is friend?

Tilak Marg Forum for Legal Questions Forums Criminal Law Is it wrong to give shelter and help to an absconding criminal who is friend?

Tagged: 

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Anonymous

I am a doctor staying in Chandigarh. One of my childhood friend suddenly came to my house stating that he is in huge trouble and some people are after him. He stayed in my house for two days. On the last day, he told me that he had committed some robbery and was running away from the police. Inspite of the said confession made before me by my friend, I gave him lunch and gave him some money as he asked for it and was helpless and I couldn’t refuse. My servant heard the whole conversation. The police officers came looking after me, and induced my servant to give statement against me of my knowledge that he had committed robbery. Please help me. What is my remedy and what action can be taken against me?

From the facts mentioned by you, it may amount to an offence of “harbouring offender” which is punishable under Section 212 of the Indian Penal Code (IPC) and/or under Section 216-A of IPC, which are reproduced below:

212. Harbouring offender.—Whenever an offence has been committed, whoever harbours or conceals a person whom he knows or has reason to believe to be the offender, with the intention of screening him from legal punishment,

[if a capital offence] shall, if the offence is punishable with death, be punished with imprisonment of either description for a term which may extend to five years, and shall also be liable to fine;

[if punishable with imprisonment for life, or with imprisonment] and if the offence is punishable with imprisonment for life, or with imprisonment which may extend to ten years, shall be punished with imprisonment of either description for a term which may extend to three years, and shall also be liable to fine;