Installation of CCTV cameras by my neighbour violating my fundamental right.

Tilak Marg Forum for Legal Questions Forums Constitutional Law Installation of CCTV cameras by my neighbour violating my fundamental right.

Tagged: 

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Respected members,

I am a resident of NOIDA (U.P) and my house is in the ground floor of my building. The building is of 4 floors .My neighbour who lives on first floor have installed CCTV cameras in his house couple of days back, however it has come to my notice that 3 of those cameras which he has installed are pointed towards the following areas of my house ;-

1. The front/entrance door of my house

2. Verandah in the southern side of my house

3. Verandah in the northern side of my house.

Camera no 2 and 3 looks like its installed just for me as its not peeping into my personal space but totally directed towards it and isn’t covering any common area.

I have informed him about my discomfort with this but he was rude and paid no heed. In light of the recent landmark judgement of the Hon’ble Supreme Court regarding Right to Privacy what are the remedies i can take? Can i approach the Hon’ble Supreme court under Article 32 of Indian Constitution.

Any legal advice is welcomed 🙂

Please note that even though privacy has been declared to be a fundamental right, we still do not have a Privacy Act which makes violation of privacy an offence.

Also note that most of the fundamental rights are available only against the State (i.e., the Government, legislature, etc.) and they are generally not available against private individuals. Therefore, a writ petition for enforcing fundamental rights against a private individual may not be entertained. Yes, if the State is violating privacy, then of course a writ petition may be possible.