Can a Lecturer teaching in a Pvt. Engg. College be trapped & charged by ACB?

Tilak Marg Forum for Legal Questions Forums Criminal Law Can a Lecturer teaching in a Pvt. Engg. College be trapped & charged by ACB?

Tagged: 

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      bhai

I am a Lecturer in a Private,un-aided, self-financed diploma engg. college run by a Trust,in Maharashtra. In 2015 a group of students filed a false complaint against me that I asked them for a bribe to sign their final year Project report.However the fact remains that they submitted their draft copy of project report 5 days after the last date of term end. Students alleged that I asked for money to sign the project report but after my signature ,My HOD & Principal also signed the report on the day of final oral examination.
      ACB laid a trap against me and arrested me and regd. a FIR against me. They alleged in their FIR and application submitted with SPl.Court that I am a public servant and I was doing the work of examination under State board and hence under section 2(c) viii & xi, I fall under the category of Public servant and hence I shall be punished for the same. I approached HC for quashing of FIR but application was rejected and justice told me that whether college received any grant or not is a part of evidence Hence it shall be decided at trial court.The PP in HC alleged that I fall in the category of Public servant under section xi & xii. These two clauses in no way apply to me.
      ACB tried to get sanction from state board for filing charge sheet against me but
      Board said that they did not appoint me hence they can not give sanction.Same way Director of Technical Education also denied to give sanction saying that I am an employee of a private college. They have now approached Education Department for sanction.