Limitation for charge sheet in case under S. 304A IPC for medical negligence

Tilak Marg Forum for Legal Questions Forums Criminal Law Limitation for charge sheet in case under S. 304A IPC for medical negligence

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Anonymous

I am a doctor and a FIR was lodged against me because of some death that happened in my hospital 10 years ago. The Police had charged me with Section 304A. They filed the Chargesheet after 3 years of the commission of the said offence. Can this fact get the FIR quashed under Section 482 of the Crpc from the high Court as the limitation under section 468 crpc is not followed. Thanks

Maximum punishment for an offence under Section 304A of IPC is two years.

For an offence carrying this much punishment, Section 468 of the Cr.P.C. lays down the period of limitation to be three years. The prohibition is on the taking of cognizance by the court when the period of limitation has expired. In a case based on investigation conducted by police, the cognizance is taken by the court on filing of a charge sheet under Section 173 of the Cr.P.C.

You have stated that the police has filed the charge sheet after a period of 3 years of the commission of the said offence. So, this appears to be a violation of the provisions of Section 468 Cr.P.C. laying down limitation period.

However, you have also said that the incident took place 10 years ago, so does it mean that the charge sheet is pending for last about 7 years and does it mean that the court has already taken cognizance because the court would normally not wait for 7 years (after filing charge sheet) for taking cognizance? So, it appears that you have not given the full relevant facts which were necessary for correctly replying to your question.

But, in any case, if the cognizance is taken after 3 years, which is beyond the period of limitation in such a case, then such cognizance would be barred by limitation.