Judge not exempting personal appearance of accused from outside

Tilak Marg Forum for Legal Questions Forums Criminal Law Judge not exempting personal appearance of accused from outside

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Anonymous

I am from Ahmedabad and have to attend a case at Noida in UP, which was filed by my wife under Section 498A IPC. I am a software engineer. It is not possible for me to appear every time for the above court date and generally nothing happens on these dates and merely adjournments are given. So, my advocate had filed an application to the magistrate for exemption for my personal appearance on routine dates and that I am willing to appear on any special date where my presence is required by the court. But, the court has rejected this application without any sold reasons. What can I do to appeal against this decision? These meaningless dates are causing a lot of stress to me as my job in the company is getting threatened and the dates are just getting adjourned.

Section 317 of the Criminal Procedure Code gives power to the court to exempt the personal appearance of the accused where the court is satisfied that the personal attendance of the accused before the Court is not necessary in the interests of justice, etc. Section 205 Cr.P.C. may also be relevant in this regard.

In the facts stated by you, it would perhaps have been in the interests of justice to dispense with your personal attendance in the court for the time being at least. In consultation with your lawyer, you may consider challenging the order of the Magistrate before the high court under Section 482 of the Cr.P.C., since no regular appeal / revision appears to be lying against such order, it being an interlocutory order.

Section 317 of the Cr.P.C. is reproduced as under: