Innocent – how long will it take to prove

Tilak Marg Forum for Legal Questions Forums Criminal Law Innocent – how long will it take to prove

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Ann

I am a college student , I was accused in a criminal case but however I’m innocent I was accused of breaking a girl’s hand but this never happened, this case was filed due to personal grudge , college authorities have submitted a report saying that such an incident has not occurred because there are no witnesses .
      This case was filed in January and so far nothing has happened in the court my question is how long will it take to prove that I’m innocent and also proving my innocence I feel is difficult because so far police hasn’t been cooperating they did not even do an investigation but however they wrote a final report and submitted it to the court . After my graduation that is in two years I had plans to continue my studies abroad but will it possible for me to leave the country then my passport also needs to be renewed soon , will I be able to do it ?

Your question is not clear. You have mentioned that the police has filed a final report in court, but it is not clear whether it is a charge sheet or a closure report.

If it is a charge sheet, then it may take a longer period to complete the trial; generally it takes a few years. However, if you feel that there is no evidence against you, you may try filing a discharge application in the trial court. If the court discharges you, the matter may end there (subject to appeal / revision, if any, by the opposite party).

On the other hand, if the final report filed by police is a closure report, then the complainant will be given an opportunity by the court to file his/her protest petition, and thereafter the court may accept the closure report or may take cognizance of the offence, depending upon its decision in the matter.